First Wedding Anniversary – Handmade Gift Challenge #6

My husband and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary this year and the traditional wedding gift for the first year is paper. I knew I wanted to make a gift, and I knew I wanted the gift to be special, but I was completely lost as to how I could accomplish this.

There were a few cute ideas on Pinterest, and I really liked the idea of sewing on to the paper like on this blog, but I am terrible at sewing and I knew I needed something a bit easier. So I asked Michelle for help and together we came up with this. I was so happy with it and most importantly Mike loved it and he thought it was super special.

 

You Will Need:

–          A colour printer

–          Good quality paper for printing

–          A heart punch (like this one, I bought mine at Michael’s)

–          A glass picture frame (I bought this at Michael’s)

–          Double-sided tape

Instructions

  1. Select the places which you would like to include in your frame, I chose 9 places (you could pick places like your first home, where you met, where you got engaged, where you went on your honeymoon etc.)
  2. Find these places using Google maps and then print the map (making sure each map is relatively close to the same scale, but this really doesn’t have to be perfect)
  3. Punch a heart out of the map, make sure to include your special spot in the punched portion (this might take a few tries to get the hang of, so you can always practice on scrap paper)
  4. Arrange the pictures in the frame and then tape the back of the picture to the back portion of the frame

I hope you like it!

–          Melissa

2 thoughts on “First Wedding Anniversary – Handmade Gift Challenge #6

  1. This was a really thoughtful and wonderful gift. It totally blew mine out of the water. Thanks for trying so hard and being so creative with the gift.
    Love ya

Leave a comment